About Us


The Solid Waste Management District serves all residents throughout St. Joseph County.

The District was formed in 1991 by St. Joseph County Ordinance No. 76-90. This resolution established a District in accordance with IC 13-21-2-14.5. 

The District Board is comprised of elected officials from:

  • St. Joseph County
  • City of Mishawaka
  • City of South Bend
  • Town of New Carlisle


The District offers comprehensive recycling, household hazardous waste (HHW), educational services to the citizens of St. Joseph County. These services include:

  • Countywide Curbside Recycling Program
  • Permanent Household Hazardous Waste Facility
  • School Education Efforts